Shocks for Focks and a Halloween story


Mewsie is a small, black and white, compact but now chubby cat who loves his food.  He also loves cuddles and is getting used to coming indoors at night.  He moved into the conservatory about a year ago and refused to leave.

As yet unneutered (although this will change when I start working again) he loves some of my cats and abhors others and behaves exactly the same to the neighbourhood cats (he will allow one to share his dinner plate, another is not allowed to even poke his head in the catflap) who also spend time in my conservatory.  It was kind of an open house for animals (I’ve had hedgehogs and a fox in there too) but has slowly over the last year, turned into Mewsie’s pad.

I was quite content to keep him out there until a few days ago, when he appeared to have had a near miss with a car, and came home covered in engine oil and dirty down one side.  So now he comes indoors at night, although later than the others.

I have a furry feeding routine, which starts with calling them all in, waiting for the stragglers, calling the foxes, feeding the foxes towards the middle of the garden, feeding the cats indoors, Mewsie in the conservatory and then sitting down with a cup of tea.  Mewsie likes a bit of fox food, so he tends to spring along behind me and have a munch or two before I go back inside to put his food out and the foxes arrive.  Tonight however, it became clear that the routine will have to change.  I called Mewsie in for his fish but he was still munching the fox food.  The male fox came wandering up, took one look at Mewsie scoffing his foodand decided to simply do what foxes for years have done in my garden – chow down with the cat.

Mewsie took one look at him in disbelief – how dare the fox eat his food? – and with a quick one-two-three-four belted the poor fox on the nose.  The fox, unused to such harsh treatment from a cat, simply stood there for a few seconds under the onslaught, before veering away whimpering.  Mewsie then stood his ground with a miaow before continuing his meal.   I had to go and fetch the little blighter.  The fox looked at me in some amazement and waited until we were well inside before venturing out to the bowl again, poor thing.  I think he’ll be giving cats a wide berth for a while!

In between all that, I took a door call from a neighbour.  Could I please help, there is a cat trapped in their house.  Two grown adults and a child and they were so afraid of it they had been throwing pillows at it and yelling.  The poor cat was hiding behind the sofa and all it took was a few kind words to get it out.  It then heard the householder’s voice and ran to the window, where it promptly skimmed up some curtains.  The householder in question is very houseproud – so I was keen to get the cat off the curtains quickly.  Unfortunately, the cat, in its panic had got one toe caught in a radiator grating so was impeded from climbing the curtains (net and drop) and was clinging onto them with all remaining claws and screeching whilst trying to remove its paw.  I got hold of the cat, disentangled the curtain claws before trying to remove the grating from the last paw.  Not easy as the cat had twisted round and its poor toe was twisted too.  I lifted the cat from the curtains, grating and all and then popped it on my shoulder and gently pulled the toe out.  The kitty then snuggled into me and relaxed.  I took it through two doors, out on the street and into my front door with no problem at all.  It must have been so relieved to not have people yelling and throwing things at it.

I can almost understand why the appearance of a black cat in a home can cause a bit of unease around Halloween.  But to be so scared of it they can’t deal with it?  And think the best way is to yell and throw things at it?  The householder, her guest and his child hid up the stairs whilst I took it out.  What century are we living in?  The cat in question is sweet natured (it never once scratched me despite its terror and pain), small and is more like to be a harbinger of cuddles than damnation.

And what stupid owner puts a collar on a cat with no identification or contact number?  Lets it roam busy streets so near Halloween (when people have been known to hurt cats, particularly black ones) and at night?  I guess I am going to find out… the cat is in my spare room and I will be putting flyers out tomorrow …

 

 

 

About titflasher

Writer, blogger, animal activist, people activist, dream-catcher maker, mommy to 9 cats and a roving band of foxes ... Blog name comes from my father's suggestion for the title of my autobiography ... after my mother's and my awful habit of flashing whenever the security police took our photo in the dark old days of apartheid South Africa. I love nature, including creepy crawlies and people, find life fascinating and frustrating and have two terrible weaknesses - nictotine and animals in distress ... can't abide the latter situation and can't give up the former. I'm Pagan but not anti-Christian, funny but quite serious, light-hearted but can be annoying. I am warm-hearted until someone p*sses on me too much, then I get soggy and even. Feel free to link me but all the words on these pages is copyrighted, so copy it and take the credit and I will find you and slap you upside the head, hard. The blog is probably best read via category as there is loads on here already, and I just got started :-)
This entry was posted in Animal antics, Ratty rants, Wild Thing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Shocks for Focks and a Halloween story

  1. David says:

    unbelievable, what century is this?

    • titflasher says:

      They’re nice people too in professional jobs … I have used the opportunity for a bit of education and it’s gone down well. They did the right thing eventually by calling me and hopefully it will have a happy ending. I would love to know how the cat got all that way though and it is still in fairly good condition too!

  2. Paula Ann Walker says:

    🙂 Loved this Sam. It amused me, informed me and kept me interested. I love the way you switch from observation, education, soft and gentle – to firm and well, erm, ratty! LOL.

    I’ll look forward to reading more from time to time.

    • titflasher says:

      Thanks Paula – this is what I set out to do with my writing so very pleased it works! :-). I’ll pm you any more animal related writing (especially the foxes) xx

  3. Pingback: Rescues | SNARL

Leave a Reply

