Friends, pole-dancing boots and the 200 People To Save Ali Quant campaign


For the past four weeks or so I have been struggling to write a post about the nature of friendship and am still struggling with it.  Facebook had a viral post wherein you asked your friends to send you a number and then, referencing the number, you wrote on your wall what you thought of them.  I was delighted by all the nice things people had to say about me (and I didn’t even need to pay them :-)) but I was deeply touched by two posts in particular. It is about these which I am struggling to write – it’s important to me and may have resonance with others. However, something came along which was way more important …

I am honoured to be part of a group called the MadUp.  I am not mentally ill myself, but eccentric enough to consider myself Mentally Interesting.  Through the actions and words of a brave young girl who came to work for me a number of years ago, I came into contact with a group of people who are mentally ill.  They are also loving and kind, creative and funny, generous and beautiful and through facebook we have been able to lift each other, laugh with each other (and oh blimey, they make me giggle sometimes so much I can hardly bear it) and live part of our lives with each other.  I also had the opportunity of meeting some of them at a (self-described) MadUp, in August last year, which was, in the main, frowned on by various counsellors and psychologists, described as “triggering” and injurious to health and actually was one of the most life-affirming, loving, sad-in-parts, hilarious-in-others and amazing evening (it started earlier in the day but I was at a fair so joined later).

I am slow to make friends normally. Although I appear extrovert I am actually quite shy and the thought of a night in a pub with a group of people I did not really know sounded in some ways like my idea of hell.  But I went anyway (a big hat always gives me a bit of confidence) and had an amazing time.  I made a whole new set of friends and I came away slightly dazed at how easy it all was.  In retrospect, it was abundantly clear that the reason I felt right at home was that no-one was judging anyone.  No-one stood there looking at how I was dressed or what I was drinking or how much money I was earning.  No-one cared a fig that I was unemployed or nervous or sweaty from a day working outside.  No-one gave a hoot that I appeared a bit OTT (wearing a big hat and snogging a girl isn’t always the best introduction to an evening like this, but what the heck!)

And since then, I have made some excellent friends. Mostly on FB although they are all people who I will see in “real” life too, given half a chance (distances preclude face-to-face contact in most cases).  I have been educated about the battles that people who are mentally ill face; the day-to-day dirge of struggling to make ends meet; swapped easy and cost-effective recipes; talked about places to shop for cheap presents; been buoyed up by their support when things have been rough in my life and hopefully given the same support back.  They also gave me the courage I needed to start this blog, without them, it would not have seen the light of day.

Over the past few weeks, I have been made aware of the coalition government’s changes to benefits given to the mentally ill and how they are going to have to go through hoops and jumps to “prove” an illness that is by its very nature quite subjective and erratic.

Now, there is a great deal of abuse of benefits – most people I know, know someone who is scamming the system in a big way.  And I abhor these people because they make it harder for those who are in genuine need to claim what they need to survive.  They also make the ordeal of claiming benefits tainted (I know, because I have had to now start claiming benefits and I cannot tell you what a lowlife failure I felt the first time I went to sign on).

When I was very ill over Christmas with flu, two people in particular kept me rolling with laughter through the fevers, through the pain, through the coughing and through the weird symptoms … one of them was a lady called Ali Quant.  She is mentally ill.  She relies on various benefits to keep her housed and fed.  She is also hilarious, loving, kind, the survivor of terrible domestic abuse and someone who has been homeless and destitute.  The new policy means that she faces losing the very benefits that keep a roof over her head and food in her belly. They are not a lot but they mean survival for her.

She posted this on her blog a few nights ago.  Go read it and come back to this page when you are done.

http://purple-noise.blogspot.com/2011/01/beginning-of-end.html

Now, Ali is not alarmist. She would rather make light of something dark; she has an almost irrepressible sense of humour and is slowly but surely making her way from the dark hell that is mental illness into the light.  I knew immediately that this was not just a cry for help.  It was a railing against the government in which we had placed so much hope; a government that should have led us out of the spin of nu-Labour into a solid future.  Instead, it has continued to erode our personal freedoms; it has increased VAT so that any families on the breadline are easily pushed under it; it has declared cuts in police and fire brigade funding; closed an essential forensics lab and slashed through the public sector budgets with no plan to effectively save money; except to encourage skilled and experienced staff to go on early retirement (but manages to keep all those expensive private management consultants on board).

Now … now it has targeted those people in our country who are least able to fight back – those scraping a living, battling with the long road that is recovery of mental illness.  Ali is not the only one who is faced with this decision; there are thousands like her, waiting to be plunged into the abyss.

Besides my love and care, there is not a lot I can do to help Ali and others like her.  In the end, a fellow blogger, the amazing Phil Groom came up with a sensible plan …  what we are going to do is give £5 a month to a central fund. If we can find 200 people to do this, it will raise £12,000 a year.  The money will go to those who lose their mental illness benefits income as a result of the cuts and stop us losing Ali in the first instance and others who face the same uphill and insurmountable (without financial assistance) struggle to survive and heal.  Those who cannot afford to contribute can still offer their support and care.  Please, if you can, spare us £5 out of your paycheck. It will go towards saving Ali and others like her.  The facebook campaign is here http://on.fb.me/ihp7or.

PS the pole-dancing boots are mine. They hurt like hell after a day spent in Croydon.  How anyone can dance in such horrors is a miracle.

About titflasher

Writer, blogger, animal activist, people activist, dream-catcher maker, mommy to 9 cats and a roving band of foxes ... Blog name comes from my father's suggestion for the title of my autobiography ... after my mother's and my awful habit of flashing whenever the security police took our photo in the dark old days of apartheid South Africa. I love nature, including creepy crawlies and people, find life fascinating and frustrating and have two terrible weaknesses - nictotine and animals in distress ... can't abide the latter situation and can't give up the former. I'm Pagan but not anti-Christian, funny but quite serious, light-hearted but can be annoying. I am warm-hearted until someone p*sses on me too much, then I get soggy and even. Feel free to link me but all the words on these pages is copyrighted, so copy it and take the credit and I will find you and slap you upside the head, hard. The blog is probably best read via category as there is loads on here already, and I just got started :-)
This entry was posted in Hope, Londonish life, Loss, Poetry, prose and other mumblings. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Friends, pole-dancing boots and the 200 People To Save Ali Quant campaign

  1. uselesscpn says:

    You are amazing and I am so glad to have met you x

  2. Karita says:

    Outstanding, powerful post. 😀

  3. Phil Groom says:

    Whoop whoop! Sorry, too late at night to say anything intelligent: past my bedtime; but couldn’t leave without saying something.

  4. Puppet says:

    “wearing a big hat and snogging a girl isn’t always the best introduction to an evening… Shit. That’s where I’ve been going wrong all these years 🙂

    You are a beautiful person, TF. Don’t forget that. x

  5. warriet says:

    too late, too tired to comment properly but will take issue with one assertion “Now, there is a great deal of abuse of benefits…” There really are not as many people as the Daily Mail, Express, Telegraph, Times etc would have you believe – the amount overpaid is considerably smaller than the amount unclaimed and the whole furore is created as an attack on voiceless poor people to be a cheap and populist diversion from the massive amounts lost through tax fiddling.

    • titflasher says:

      Ah David! At last we disagree! Unfortunately, I live in an area of high benefit fraud and I can personally name four people who are living on benefits who truly should not be and know of around 10 others through people I know. I am not talking about people who are using benefits to recover or find their feet and are in that transition period between that and getting a fulltime job (where there are some grey areas and people may need to claim benefits for a short while to counteract debt etc) but actual out and out benefit fraudsters. However, I completely agree with you re tax fiddling – it happens all the time and big business are the worst culprits. And there is never enough press time given to this.

      • titflasher says:

        Btw – I think I should clarify … NONE of the benefit cheats I know come from the mental health “arena”. Because mentally ill people already face huge challenges (without the new rules) in proving themselves, most benefit cheats stay away from going down this route. ALL of the people I know who are benefit cheats fit the “long term, generations on benefits, claiming for bad backs or having kids to get a flat” criteria. And none of them are my personal friends – I would not be friends with someone who abused a system that is relied on by so many who truly need it.

      • warriet says:

        Report the crime(s)? The DWP/local councils need evidence to convict but it’s surprising how many claimants will simply stop asking if challenged. Also, the amounts involved are trivial in the broader economic context, there are very many worse examples of public money waste.

        Meant to include the observation that, however obtained, the poor’s money is not lost to the economy to off-shore tax havens or even to holidays outside the UK. OK, some this money will doubtless find its way to Columbia and Afghanistan (90% of cannabis is now home grown) but in general terms the money paid out does not cease to exist, it is spent in local shops by those who cannot afford the car or cash-flow to avail themselves of the economics of scale offered by the larger supermarkets

  6. Paula Ann Walker says:

    Positive, assertive, humorous, compassionate, honest. I was a little breathless reading it. You know, it’s funny ………. I can’t share details of why and how I learned, but I ‘know.’ Thanks Sam, you did it again!

    • titflasher says:

      Oh Paula thank you. Your opinion means such a lot to me, for all sorts of reasons but also because you are not afraid to give me honest feedback (offline). I know you “know” xx

  7. warriet says:

    Back to the plot, what can I do to help the 200 People To Save Ali Quant campaign?

  8. Pingback: Tweets that mention Friends, pole-dancing boots and the 200 People To Save Ali Quant campaign | confessions of a serial titflasher -- Topsy.com

  9. Pingback: One Month Before Heartbreak: Who Cares? » Confessions of a Serial Insomniac

  10. Pingback: 200 People to Save Ali Quant « Phil's Boring Blog

  11. titflasher says:

    Thanks guys for sharing this on twitter and on your blogs. I can’t begin to tell you what this means to me. It started out as a rant and seems to have gained huge momentum -I am so pleased on so many levels. We stand an excellent chance of making the campaign something tangible and effective and helping Ali and others like her. Thank you, from the bottom of my heart xx

Leave a Reply

