How on earth do we cope?


Sometimes I feel overwhelmed by the constant litany of animal abuse that hits my email, my facebook and my phone.

I get that some people don’t particularly like animals, would not have pets, I can understand that one.  I also get that some people who have troubled life starts do not recover and go on to perpetuate the horrors inflicted on them.  I can understand how that happens.

But you know, there are millions of people out there who have had worse happen to them, who have been abused and mistreated and harmed beyond repair; but whose first instinct instead is to heal and not hurt.  And the longer I live, the more I come across people who have had the worst starts but who have turned that into triumph, who refuse to behave like their abusers, who go on to do good instead of bad.

So it is not an excuse, I am sorry.  Very few people get a choice as to what happens to them when growing up, but everyone gets a fucking choice in how they respond as an adult.

From pigs destined for death in an abbatoir (which hahahaha is an RSPCA-approved Freedom Foods abbatoir) being abused, burned and beaten, to a woman in Asia being arrested after forcing young girls to stamp on baby animals and filming them for corrupted western men to jerk off to, to a dog tied up by the neck so tightly it was nearly decapitated, and left die in a forest, to a baby elephant in permanent chains and isolation in a zoo; to a 17 year old blind dog dumped in a shelter to die; to a cat today living in a prosperous area whose owner moved to yet another prosperous area, dumped the cat and went back today to collect some more stuff and ignored the cat who ran out to greet her; this week has just brought horror upon horror and I have just about bloody had enough, as have several of my friends.

And yet, we keep going, knowing that the task is endless, that education does not eradicate evil (as much as the do-gooders would have us try and believe this) and that the job will probably kill us from stress and heartbreak at some point.

I do not share everything I get on facebook and email.  There are two reasons for this – several of my friends do it and all that happens is that their updates become a litany of misery.  I wince every time I see one of their posts, knowing what it will contain.  The second reason is that a litany of misery means that people eventually switch off and when something really needs greater support, it won’t be there.

I can’t expect people in the UK to get upset over animals on death row in the US, so I only share these posts with two amazing friends I have over there by private message.  And if I posted everything I got that was UK-based, well I would probably lose friends faster than Michael Vick would lose his testicles if I ever got hold of him.

So I post what I think people can stand.  But how sad it is that there is so much evil done in this world that I have to moderate my sharing of it?

It is not sad that people get overwhelmed and don’t want to look – that’s because it upsets them, which is a natural response and if they didn’t have that response, I would be truly worried.

But it is the sheer scale of horror that goes on that makes me want to crumble, the nature of evil and its continued blossoming on my planet, in my country, in my town and on my street is something I will never get used to.

It is also the reason why I sympathise and support those braver than me who go and raid vivisection labs, disrupt hunts, protest outside those companies who support uch endeavours and whose entire focus is the care of those without a voice in this world.

I may not always agree with their tactics, I might not agree with their militant natures but my gods, I understand their anger and their frustration.

About titflasher

Writer, blogger, animal activist, people activist, dream-catcher maker, mommy to 9 cats and a roving band of foxes ... Blog name comes from my father's suggestion for the title of my autobiography ... after my mother's and my awful habit of flashing whenever the security police took our photo in the dark old days of apartheid South Africa. I love nature, including creepy crawlies and people, find life fascinating and frustrating and have two terrible weaknesses - nictotine and animals in distress ... can't abide the latter situation and can't give up the former. I'm Pagan but not anti-Christian, funny but quite serious, light-hearted but can be annoying. I am warm-hearted until someone p*sses on me too much, then I get soggy and even. Feel free to link me but all the words on these pages is copyrighted, so copy it and take the credit and I will find you and slap you upside the head, hard. The blog is probably best read via category as there is loads on here already, and I just got started :-)
This entry was posted in Ratty rants, Wild Thing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How on earth do we cope?

  1. purplesapho says:

    I can barely stand to read about this. And I wouldn’t ask you to show me the stuff you kept from your blog, because you’re right. I couldn’t handle it. I know it’s there, but I can’t bear to look at it. It would just confirm how horrible the world is and it would probably paralyze me. I wish there was something to do about this. I was talking with my family about what we’d do if we won the lottery. We agreed to create a shelter for abandoned dogs and cats. It’s the least we could do… But we can’t at the moment.

    I try to keep myself together by looking after the animals that ARE under my care, which are 2 dogs and 1 cat, and the occasional bird. We adopted the cat from the streets. It was an abandoned starving kitten under the rain. We don’t know what happened with her siblings.

    I’m really sorry that I can’t do more for the other ones. It truly breaks my heart.

    • titflasher says:

      Purplesapho – by looking after the animals in your care and by taking in strays you are doing far more than the average person. So do not feel guilty. It is very, very hard not to be overwhelmed by the extent of suffering. But paralysis means inaction, and none of us can afford that. So bravo for doing what you are doing. All I will say is that signing petitions and lend your signature to campaigns does help too and takes very little time. Once again, hard not to be overwhelmed by the number but the more people who have their voice heard, the more we can influence things. Thanks for your comment – very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

