To those of you who voted Tory … (yes that means you)


Those who know me well know that the recent election results have left me aghast, alarmed and pretty much heartbroken.

Those who know me well and who voted Tory, are really quite amused at what they perceive as my rather extreme reaction.

I am compelled to write this because every single Tory voter needs to understand what they have done and if you think this post is about you, it probably is.

You see, I don’t understand how anyone could vote Tory or not vote at all.  I understand voting Labour (as much as I can’t say I am a massive fan after Blair); I understand not being happy about the political system in the UK, which clearly doesn’t do what it is intended to do.  But it is all we have at the moment and any opportunity for change over the next five years has been lost, if you voted Tory or not at all.

I can understand voting for an Independent, voting Green, even voting for UKIP.  I get all that, as much as I will never agree with a UKIP vote.

What I don’t understand is why you would vote for a party who openly stands for things you don’t.

This is what is going to happen in the next five years.  This is not a list of Boudie’s predictions, this is what the Conservatives have promised:

(i) A repeal of the Hunting Act.  And they have more than enough MPs to do it now.  This means that when my partner goes out at the weekend to save animals from being torn apart by dogs, he will have no law behind him.

That won’t stop him but it will result in animals being torn apart by dogs and those who try to stop this will be arrested.  So you have voted for a party which will see my boyfriend (and many of my friends) treated like criminals.

You care about animals but you have ensured that those same animals are going to die, horrifically and those of us who try and protect them will be prosecuted.

Just as bad, I cannot get the police or RSPCA to investigate a group of lads who go out every couple of weekends and hunt with their dogs and post the photos and video on social media because the government gave the same people licences to kill badgers during the badger cull.  And until the culls are stopped, this will continue.  You voted for this.

(ii) Selling off large portions of the NHS.  If you are ill and need an operation, get in there NOW.  Because in a couple of years time unless you have private medical cover, you won’t get access to medical care.

In the US, people who fall ill with cancer, MS, ME, any number of life- or welfare- threatening illnesses often have to sell their homes in order to cover their costs.  Those who are not home owners and who have no private medical cover die because government care will not grant them expensive treatments like chemotherapy.  This is what will happen here and this is the future for which you have voted.

(iii) Benefits – we have had five years of people with long term physical or mental illnesses being demonised in the press and having their benefits taken away from them.  Many have died.  The Tories promised to further reduce the welfare bill which means that many more will die.

Some of you tell me what a lovely person I am because I help to run a small charitable trust that offers emergency funding to people who have lost their benefits because they are too ill to jump through the hoops that this government is putting them through to prove that they are too ill to work.  So you know this happening and you know that we needed to do this to try and save lives.  And yet, you have still voted for more of this.

Some of you have friends and family who claim benefits they shouldn’t and you know about this.  And you let it happen but will not grant the same mercy to someone who is fully entitled to those benefits and who needs them to survive.  How could you do that?

(iv) Public spending will be cut yet again.  So if you are a public servant, at best your workload will increase.  At worst, you’ll lose your job.  Also, your pension and your medical cover.  You voted for this.

(v) If you are a small businessperson, you will be paying tax.  You might have lost out on a number of contracts for work because outsourcing contracts tend to be offered to large companies who can provide services across the country.  Either you will have lost out because you can’t do that or you will have lost out because you can’t work to the  economies of scale that larger companies can.  The Tories promote this so you have voted for a party who will continue to deny you work and an income.

(vi) If you are worried about our public spending and wish to see large corporates pay more tax then you voted for the wrong party.  The Tories will continue to offer their friends who run these companies the opportunity of using tax havens and breaks because their mates give the Tory party funding.  This is public knowledge and yet, you voted for them.

I could go on and on and on … but here is what your vote means to me:

– It means that I am going to have to sit and watch over the next five years whilst a group of unmentionable young men tear animals apart and rub themselves with their entrails and blood, who post photos and video about how much damage their dogs sustain during these fights and how they patch their dogs up themselves, not always successfully, because they daren’t go to a vet.  And then watch as they are paid by the government to go and legally shoot badgers, often leaving them suffering for hours afterwards before they die. You voted for this.

– T and my lives will be in turmoil from the moment the Hunting Act is repealed as we will have to make decisions about whether we put ourselves at risk (and therefore also put at risk the welbeing of the animals we take care of) to try and save other animals from hideous deaths.  You voted for this.

– My best friend needs a kidney transplant and I never thought for a moment that her biggest worry might be that she’d have to pay for it.  If it happens in the next year she should be okay.  God help her if it happens in a couple of year’s time.  You voted for this.

– I lost my job last year, in the council’s attempt to save £10 million.  It brought me to the edge of destruction and I’m not even clear yet and with hope, might be in a year or two.  You voted for more of this.

– Several of my friends have been brought to the edges of their own destruction because they have been made to jump through hoops they had no hope of reaching.  So far, I haven’t lost one yet.  This is only because we have an awesome support network and also because we set up 5Quid for Life.

Over 80 suicide cases have been directly linked to the changes made to benefits by the Tories.  Over 60,000 people have died since being forced back to work.  This is going to happen over and over and over through the next five years.  Those people had families, loved ones, friends and some of those people’s deaths even made it into the press so you know about it.  I am going to lose people I love and you voted for this.

Forgive me if I distance myself from you for the moment, I am simply too heartbroken and too disappointed in you to engage with you on any level at all.

About titflasher

Writer, blogger, animal activist, people activist, dream-catcher maker, mommy to 9 cats and a roving band of foxes ... Blog name comes from my father's suggestion for the title of my autobiography ... after my mother's and my awful habit of flashing whenever the security police took our photo in the dark old days of apartheid South Africa. I love nature, including creepy crawlies and people, find life fascinating and frustrating and have two terrible weaknesses - nictotine and animals in distress ... can't abide the latter situation and can't give up the former. I'm Pagan but not anti-Christian, funny but quite serious, light-hearted but can be annoying. I am warm-hearted until someone p*sses on me too much, then I get soggy and even. Feel free to link me but all the words on these pages is copyrighted, so copy it and take the credit and I will find you and slap you upside the head, hard. The blog is probably best read via category as there is loads on here already, and I just got started :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To those of you who voted Tory … (yes that means you)

  1. Ems says:

    I have no words. I am heartbroken with you, for all those reasons. For the impact this is going to have on my own family, my children – but also for all of the vulnerable people whose lives the Tories have destroyed and are now set to destroy in future.
    Knowing people like you exist is what is giving me any hope at all for the future x

  2. Phil Groom says:

    Likewise, torn apart: we have an illegitimate government put in place by an electoral system that is manifestly not fit for purpose, voted for by people who seem to be willfully blind to what the Tories are doing. Words fail. *hugs* Boudie.

Leave a Reply

